HIGHLIGHTS

Parcours Menin Gate

1 Menin Gate

The "memorial to the missing". The walls of the Menin Gate bear the names of some 55,000 Commonwealth soldiers who were reported as missing before 15 August 1917. At the Menin Gate, over 100 years after the Great War, the Last Post ceremony still takes place, as it has done since 1928. Here it's time to stand still for a moment and reflect on history.

(all distances)

Parcours The Cloth Hall

2The Cloth Hall

The Cloth Hall (Lakenhallen) was built in the 13th century and served as a covered sales and storage area. Back then, the Hall and its Belfry were among the most impressive civil buildings in Europe. During the First World War the building was almost completely destroyed, with only the Donkerpoort surviving the conflict. After the war, the hall was completely reconstructed. Today, you can visit the In Flanders Fields museum there.

(all distances)

Parcours Passage de moeren

3 De Moeren

An open plain where the wind is ever present and where you have to battle on your bicycle against nature and against yourself. It's a traditional key moment in the professional competition where an initial selection takes place after returning from the coast towards the interior.

(225 km)

Parcours Baneberg

4Baneberg

The first slope of the day is the Baneberg. Last season, Wout van Aert and Mathieu van der Poel provided fantastic entertainment here during the Ghent-Wevelgem race. How well will you be able to manage this short climb (270 m) with its average incline of 9% and its maximum of 13%?

More info

(225, 140 and 95 km)

Parcours Kemmelberg

5Kemmelberg

The deciding factor and then some in this spring classic is Kemmelberg. This year, you, just like the professional racers, can climb the defining ascent of Gent-Wevelgem on two sides. We will first be sending you over the Kemmelberg - Belvédère. Then, after a steep climb on cobblestones, with inclines reaching 22%, you can choose: after the descent, will you ride on to the Plugstreets, or will you tackle the challenge a second time on Kemmelberg - Ossuaire?

More info

(225, 140 and 95 km)

Parcours Plugstreets

6Plugstreets

The Plugstreets near Ploegsteert were added to the Gent-Wevelgem route in 2017. The programme includes the semi-paved roads of Hill 63 and Christmas Truce, a remembrance of that event in 1914 and the short ceasefire in that Christmas period. The Plugstreets consist of three semi-paved sections of a total of 5.2 km. The two sections of our route are located in an open landscape where the wind can play a determining role, and furthermore there is a slight incline. Give it all you've got!

(225, 140 and 95 km)

ASCENSIONS ET SECTEURS PAVÉS

Parcours Porte de Menin

1 Porte de Menin

Un " memorial to the missing ". Les murs de la Porte de Menin sont recouverts des noms d'environ 55 000 soldats du Commonwealth porté disparus avant le 15 août 1917. Plus de 100 ans après la Grande Guerre, la cérémonie du Last Port y a toujours lieu, et ce depuis 1928. Profitez de ce moment d'histoire.

(toutes distances)

Parcours Halles aux draps

2Halles aux draps

Les Halles aux draps ont été construites au 13e siècle et servaient de lieu de commerce et de stockage couvert. Les halles et le beffroi figuraient alors parmi les bâtiments civils les plus impressionnants d'Europe. Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, le bâtiment fut presque entièrement détruit et seule la Donkerpoort a résisté. Une reconstruction totale fut alors entreprise. On peut désormais y visiter le musée In Flanders Fields.

(toutes distances)

Parcours Les Moëres

3 Les Moëres

Une plaine ouverte dominée par le vent, où vous devrez vous battre contre la nature et vous-même. Un moment clé de la course des professionnels, où une première sélection a lieu après le retour de la côte vers les terres.

(225 km)

Parcours Baneberg

4Baneberg

La première côte du jour sera le Baneberg. La saison dernière, Wout van Aert et Mathieu van der Poel y ont assuré le spectacle. Comment allez-vous vous en sortir dans cette courte ascension (270 m) à 9 % de moyenne, avec un pic à 13 % ?

Plus d'info

(225, 140 en 95 km)

Parcours Mont Kemmel

5Mont Kemmel

Cette classique printanière s'offre un juge de paix de taille : le Mont Kemmel. Cette année, vous pourrez le grimper des deux côtés, comme les professionnels. Vous passerez d'abord par le Mont Kemmel-Belvédère. Après une solide ascension pavée, avec des pics à 22 %, vous aurez le choix : poursuivre votre route vers les plugstreets après la descente ou bien remonter une nouvelle fois Kemmel-Ossuaire.

Plus d'info

(225, 140 en 95 km)

Parcours Plugstreets

6Plugstreets

Les Plugstreets, situées dans la région de Ploegsteert, figurent au parcours de Gand-Wevelgem depuis 2017. Au programme : des routes semi-revêtues à hauteur de Hill 63 et de Christmas Truce, en mémoire des trêves de Noël 1914. Les Plugstreets, ce sont trois secteurs semi-revêtus d'un total de 5,2 km. Les deux de notre parcours se trouvent dans un paysage ouvert où le vent peut jouer un rôle déterminant et grimpent légèrement. Courage !

(225, 140 en 95 km)